Have something to say?
Wanted: Green Mass Group Editors!
Support Green Mass Group!

Keep Green Mass Group going
by covering our 2014 operating costs.


Fundraising Thermometer

Menu

- Home
- About GMG
- Contact
- F.A.Q.
- How to use GMG
- Policy
- RSS Feed
- Diaries

Make a New Account

Username:

Password:



Forget your username or password?


Search




Advanced Search


Event Calendar
August 2014
(view month)
S M T W R F S
* * * * * 01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 * * * * * *
<< (add event) >>

Facebook
Green Mass Group on Facebook



Democracy Technology

by: gmoke

Tue Jan 24, 2012 at 23:28:33 PM EST


A Facebook group called Upgrade Democracy (http://www.facebook.com/groups/upgradedemocracy) is collecting a list of

teams/organizations working on technology-powered solutions to the systemic problems of governance/group decision-making.

They want help in expanding the list but

Please don't add projects that simply use technology to slightly enhance our current political system (e.g. electronic petitions). We're upgrading the democratic operating system, not tweaking the interface. ;)

http://www.facebook.com/groups...

Teams / Organizations Working to Upgrade Democracy
By Frank Grove, Ben Woosley and 5 others in Upgrade Democracy Community

Circle Voting http://www.circlevoting.com
CodeForAmerica http://codeforamerica.org/
Deliberative Democracy (Stanford) http://cdd.stanford.edu/
DemDash http://demdash.us/
DemocracyLab http://democracylab.org/
Dynamic Democracy (US) http://upgradedemocracy.org
HackDemocracy http://hackdemocracy.org
Hypothes.is http://hypothes.is/
LayerVote http://layervote.com/
Open Assembly http://openassembly.org
Personal Democracy Forum http://personaldemocracy.com/
Participant Labs http://participantlabs.com/
ReFrameIt http://reframeit.com/
Seasteading Institute http://seasteading.org
TwoSides http://www.twosides.co/
Village Votes http://villagevotes.com/wiki/V...
VoteReports http://votereports.org/
VoteSF http://votesf.com/
Wecision http://wecision.com/

gmoke :: Democracy Technology
NOT (YET?) PART OF THE UPGRADE DEMOCRACY COMMUNITY

1Party4All (UK) http://www.1party4all.co.uk/
Adhocracy (Germany) http://adhocracy.de/instance
AmericansElect http://www.americanselect.org/
Ballotpedia http://ballotpedia.org
BetterMeans http://bettermeans.org/
Candiwiki http://doku.candiwi.org/articl...
Center for Democracy & Technology http://cdt.org/
Citizens in Charge http://www.citizensincharge.org/
CivicCommons http://civiccommons.org/
Crowdvote http://www.crowdvote.org/
Debate Graph http://debategraph.org/
Deliberatorium http://cci.mit.edu/research/de...
DemoEx (UK & Sweden) http://demoex.org/
Digital Democracy (US) http://digital-democracy.org/
Digital Democracy (UK) http://digitaldemocracy.org.uk/
Direct Representation http://www.directrep.org/
Dynamic Alignment http://lifeblooddesign.com/con...
Dynamic Democracy (UK) http://www.dynamicdemocracy.or...
EveryBlock http://everyblock.com
FairVote http://www.fairvote.org/
GenerallyAssembled http://generallyassembled.com/
Hyperarchy https://hyperarchy.com
Ideal Government http://idealgovernment.com/
International Open Source Party http://www.facebook.com/home.p...
Jolitics http://jolitics.com
Journal of eDemocracy & Open Government http://www.jedem.org/
LittleSis http://littlesis.org/
Liquid Democracy http://liqd.net/en
Localocracy http://www.localocracy.com/
Metagovernment Project http://www.metagovernment.org/...
Modern Ballots http://modernballots.com/
Moxy Vote http://www.moxyvote.com/
newDemocracy http://www.newdemocracy.com.au/
Occupy Assembly http://occupyassembly.org/
Online Democracy http://onlinedemocracy.sairmai...
Open Democracy http://opendemocracy.wikidot.com/
Open Source Democracy Foundation http://theosdf.org/
OpenGovernment http://opengovernment.org/
OpenPlans http://openplans.org/
OpenTheGovernment http://www.openthegovernment.org/
Opinion Space http://www.state.gov/opinionsp...
Participatory Politics Foundation http://www.participatorypoliti...
Participedia http://participedia.net/wiki/W...
Party X http://partyx.com/
PieTrust http://www.pietrust.com/
Planetary I/O http://plntry.net/
PolicyTree http://www.policytree.org/
PopVox https://www.popvox.com
Porto Alegre (city in Brazil)http://www.thirdworldtraveler.com/South_America/Democracy_PortoAlegre.html
Program on Networked Governance (Harvard) http://www.hks.harvard.edu/net...
Project Vote Smart http://votesmart.org
Propongo http://propongo.tomalaplaza.net/
ReWired State (UK) http://rewiredstate.org/
SeeClickFix http://seeclickfix.com
Sociocracy http://www.sociocracy.info/
SmartVote (switzerland) http://www.smartvote.ch
TurboVote http://www.turbovote.org
Virtual Parliamant (UK) http://www.virtualparliament.o...
Vote For Policies (UK) http://voteforpolicies.org.uk/
Votizen http://votizen.com
Votocracy http://votocracy.com/
Votorola http://zelea.com/project/votor...
YourFreedom (UK) http://yourfreedom.hmg.gov.uk/

Poll
More democracy technology?
yes
no
not yes
not no
neither yes nor no
both yes and no
don't understand the question?
none of the above

Results

Tags: , , , , , , (All Tags)
Print Friendly View Send As Email

About
Green Mass Group is an online forum for Green thought and collective action in Massachusetts. It is a community forum for justice, sustainability, democracy and health in the Commonwealth and beyond. Read more

Quotes

"The sad reality is that we are in danger of perishing from our own stupidity and lack of personal responsibility to life... to create a mess in which we perish by our own inaction makes nonsense of our claim to consciousness and morality."

--Bill Mollison


Connect with us


Find GMG on Facebook

Blog Roll
We recommend
AlterNet
The Automatic Earth
Club Orlov
Common Dreams
CounterPunch
Democracy Now!
Energy Bulletin
Green Change
Green Horizon
Green Party Watch
Mass Greens
No Supper Tonight
The Oil Drum
Open Media Boston
The Sanctuary
Sustainability by Design
Sustenance
techPresident
Truthdig
Web of Debt
YES! Magazine

Third Party Politics
Ballot Access News
Free & Equal
Independent Political Report
Poli-Tea

MA Politics
All Politics is Wicked Local
Blue Mass Group
Bob LeLievre's Blog
CommonWealth Unbound
Gold Mass Group
Mass Roundup
MassBeacon.com
Mass Politics Blog
Planet Valenti
Red Mass Group


Important Links
Massachusetts
Alliance for Democracy
Alternatives for Community and Environment
Bioneers by the Bay
Boston Workers Alliance
Center for Popular Economics
The Crash Course
Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative
The E.F. Schumacher Society
Greater Boston Peak Oil & Climate Change Meetup
Green Justice Coalition
Green-Rainbow Party
Massachusetts Budget & Policy Center
Massachusetts Coalition for Healthy Communities
Massachusetts Global Action
Massachusetts Green Jobs Coalition
Massachusetts Jobs with Justice
Massachusetts Peace Action
New Economics Institute
Northeast Organic Farming Association - Mass.
Nuestras Raices
ONE Massachusetts
Peacework Magazine
PV Sustain
Secure Green Future
Small Planet Institute
Stop the Wars Coalition
Student Immigrant Movement
Students for a Just and Stable Future
Time Trade Circle
Transition Massachusetts
Traprock Center for Peace & Justice
United for a Fair Economy
United for Justice with Peace

New England
Gund Institute for Ecological Economics
New England United

National
Business Alliance for Local Living Economies
Center for the Advancement of the Steady State Economy
Grassroots Economic Organizing
Green America
Green Party of the U.S.
The Greens/Green Party USA
Institute for Local Self Reliance
Institute for Policy Studies
New American Dream
Post Carbon Institute
Progressive Democrats of America
Slow Money Alliance
The Story of Stuff
Transition US
US Solidarity Economy Network

Global
350.org
African Greens
European Greens
Federation of Green Parties of Americas
Global Greens
New Economics Foundation


check to have links open new windows
Powered by: SoapBlox